Fitness Retreat Day 3: Koh Samui, Thailand

Sunrise run views

This morning I felt dreadful. My run was much tougher than the day before I felt so hot & lethargic the whole time. My favourite songs couldn’t even motivate me to run faster or for longer. Music is my hypothetical whip which motivates me to push myself. My whip was broken today. I lay on my bed as soon as I got back & it took all my energy to get up for a shower & go for my breakfast juice. I don’t have the energy to smile & chat to people. I’m not my normal self. I’m not starving or pining for food – don’t get me wrong, if I was allowed food I would take it without hesitation. I want to hide in my room & sleep but I go through the motions of yoga, meditation, sauna, talking to people (one of my favourite hobbies!). Even my massage didn’t pick me up. Then I had another colonic to face. I was completely uninspired.

At 3pm our group exercise was weights & I felt I was coming back to myself as the 3 fabulous female participants danced & grinded our way through the weights with cheesy 80s throwback songs. The Thai kitchen staff even came out & joined us to throw some moves! Music & good company is a recipe for a good time, even when you’re working out during a Thai heatwave!

I went for a lovely cycle after the workout & promised myself a new bike when I stand still again. When I got back I downed my 2 bowls of soup then jumped into the beautiful sea. I’m so relieved my mood has lifted & I feel myself again. Hopefully it is my body adjusting to these changes in a positive way. People say it’s toxins leaving the body but I’m not convinced… I hope that will be my lowest point of the program. I say this highly optimistically as I have a liver cleanse tomorrow which is supposed to be really tough.

Leave a Reply

