Book Club: 1984

img_4370
1984 by George Orwell is a classic which I picked up on a friends recommendation. I always ask people what their favourite books are & endeavour to read them. If my friends regard the books so highly surely they must have some substance! This book is infamous & I have heard about it, of course, but never had the burning desire to read it. I read Animal Farm at school & didn’t feel the compulsion to venture back to George Orwell since.
I picked up this tatty copy at a book exchange & struggled with the tiny writing during a 16 hour overnight bus in India. I got sucked right into Winston’s world of Oceana in Nepal & took it trekking in the Himalayas.
The vision Orwell had back in the 1940s fascinates me & makes me shiver. It genuinely frightens me how much of our lives are controlled & monitored. Sometimes I feel like we’ve got everything wrong & we need to abandon our futuristic western lifestyles for something more wholesome & simple. The concepts of this novel have resonated deeply with me.
At last! A classic I truly enjoyed & will recommend to others.
Leave a Reply

