Book Club: The Catcher in the Rye

I traded Mindy in for The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger at a hostel book exchange. I am always happy to find a classic I haven’t read. I feel that classics are a genre I haven’t given enough attention to so every now & then I make a conscious effort to incorporate one into my reading aperture. More often than not these turn out to be slow & disappointing. I even feel disappointment in myself as though I am missing something. As though I am a sub standard reader for not appreciating this literature. Are my expectations too high? Am I a literary reject? Does anyone else feel like this?
IMG_3004
Unfortunately Catcher in the Rye was no exception to this pattern of literary self demise. I found it lacking. It was bland. I prefer other books. Should I give up on my classics campaign? Can you recommend a good classic? Don’t judge me!
The Catcher in the Rye is currently available on Amazon for £4.99.
5 thoughts on “Book Club: The Catcher in the Rye

Leave a Reply

