North Island New Year Roadtrip

I am starting my New Year in style! I will be exploring the North Island with my pal in a camper van with the Irish flag emblazoned upon it. I feel very patriotic with a dash of expat missing home nostalgia.

IMG_1779

The sun setting in Taupo, 2015

IMG_1664

 

New Years Eve in Taupo

FullSizeRender 6

 

New Years Day geothermal cleanse

IMG_1680

 

Kiwi ingenuity at it’s best: a park bench boat

FullSizeRender 4

 

FullSizeRender 5

This impressive piece of work took two inspirational kiwi’s 1 week & around $1200 to create. It comes with built in drinks holders, a centrepiece chilly bin & built in bbq (so the sausages don’t roll off!). They have speakers, oars, life jackets & parasols to protect you from the sun. It really has everything! These guys even took its first test run in the sea. I have fallen in love with the kiwi spirit all over again!

 

Another geothermal pool

IMG_1780

 

Raining & I just don’t care

FullSizeRender 2

I wasn’t called upon to drive which is fortunate as after spells of driving in Italy, Ireland & Switzerland in the past year I really don’t have a clue which side of the road to drive on – never mind which side the drivers seat is on…. I was in charge of the beats which ranged from hip hop to chilled out instrumentals. I like to think I rocked it.

Next time you see two white freckled Irish people in a camper van, know that they have probably just jammed to a sick rap beat.

Happy New Year! x

 

 

Leave a Reply

